homogenization, frozen dinners, and original ideas

I won’t lie, Facebook and Twitter are very addictive social communication tools, perhaps if I had a job where I was actually interested and/ or had work to do more than 30% of the time I would be less addicted to them both, but that’s besides the point…

My co-workers always discuss various types of food, I will momentarily bypass their extreme obsession with Costco (there’s enough there for an ENTIRE other post), needless to say excluding mentioning their continuously obscene quantity of emails this is their favorite topic of conversation. My favorite co-worker, you know the one, likes to note at about… every work dinner we have that the type of Chinese food they have in most of Canada is not actually ethnically what they eat in China. While having a strong urge  from breaking into a slow clap when she says this I, as per usual, restrain myself and revert back to the dancing penguin in my head.

Most food in North America is homogenized, it’s not exactly new information, globalization has created a strange array of fusion restaurants, and mainly just toning down the intense tastes and spice levels of most amazing food. Needless to say if you want to find truly ethnic food, especially in main urban areas, you definitely can… just have to look a little harder. Next time we go out to eat for work however, I shall be sure to remind her that my ‘ethnic’ food is actually tea and crumpets, and I’m truly offended by the fact in my home land I have access to prawn cocktail crisps instead of this double cheeseburger dorrito nonsense…

 Social networking is part of both the best and worst parts of globalization. The fact that we have access to such vast quantities of information in just a couple of clicks is an incredible educational resource, but… it also leads us to homogenize information. We re-post and re-tweet the same information endlessly until it eventually loses all depth and consistency, unless of course you were the first noted person to post it in which case you deserve a golden burger king crown and a yuppie cape. Original ideas are hard to come by these days, but it seems we have reduced our search for information to simply browsing through the information that select individuals think is valid enough to post. I mean, I love amusing youtube remixes of hit pop songs as much as the next person but when they’re posted 50 times in one news feed it can get a tad nauseating.

So if Facebook is butter chicken, Twitter is crispy sesame beef, then what is Google plus? Lobster Burrito anyone??

 

 

Leave a comment